Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

barracutta legent burn from wrong polarity

3 posters

Go down

barracutta legent burn from wrong polarity Empty barracutta legent burn from wrong polarity

Post  bogias Thu Feb 12, 2015 4:49 am

i have buy one barracutta legent kit to make but i have put the polarity wrong and i have burn something
can someone help me what i have been burn to change.
i have change the yellow i see smoke from that
barracutta legent burn from wrong polarity 111

https://i.servimg.com/u/f38/19/14/13/75/112.jpg

bogias
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2015-02-12

Back to top Go down

barracutta legent burn from wrong polarity Empty Re: barracutta legent burn from wrong polarity

Post  CostasDee Thu Feb 12, 2015 7:36 am

Hi bogias and welcome to the forum. I have no personal experience with this board, and I do not have a schematic diagram so I am only guessing, but I would start by looking at the diodes, especially the one that is between your 2 power leads, ie the one that is in the top right of your picture. Sometimes these look good but may be internally burnt, and one so close could be a protector to stop damage in the event of reversing polarity, as you have done. I am guessing that you have a multimeter to check for continuity? Good luck and keep us posted...

....PS, a bit late now, but it's a good idea not to use the same colour wire for neg and pos and then twist them together, it's just a recipe for disaster (but you know that now)
CostasDee
CostasDee
Management

Number of posts : 3971
Registration date : 2010-11-23

Back to top Go down

barracutta legent burn from wrong polarity Empty burn

Post  bogias Fri Feb 13, 2015 4:29 am

i have test the diodes and seems to be ok the give me 960 and reverse nothing i have find the schematic if will help you to tell me somthing