Gold Detecting and Prospecting Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Old timer shafts through shale

3 posters

Go down

Old timer shafts through shale Empty Old timer shafts through shale

Post  goldfool Sun Sep 01, 2013 8:53 am

Hi guys, newbie here. Been twice to an area that has had gold found in a series of old mines over 100 years ago. The property hasn't seen metal detectors for about 20years according to 4th generation property owner. The areas are covered in red quartz and a bit of ironstone. The terrain is all hills and gullies and from what I have discovered is mostly deep clay. Sad . Most of the deep mines have been dug right through near vertically dipping shale outcrops shooting up through clay.. The stack heaps of shale rocks on the surface are quite big so they have gone through a lot of shale. My question is why would they have gone through this shale? Would they have seen a vein of quartz through it which isn't there anymore sinced they mined it? You can still see the shale foliation on the face of the shaft, but it is just bare shale, with no other rock through it. Also this area I see has a lot of quartz on surface with rich red soil but from what I've seen, the clay layer is quite deep. Where has this quartz come from as I cannot find reefs on the ridges of this deep clay strata. There are workings all over place, but I'm yet to find any yellow. Just a lot of screaming hard lumps of reddy blacky clay Evil or Very Mad 

Forgive me for the noob questions. I have a lot to learn.
Thanks

goldfool
New Poster
New Poster

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2012-07-19

Back to top Go down

Old timer shafts through shale Empty Re: Old timer shafts through shale

Post  rc62burke Sun Sep 01, 2013 3:08 pm

Hey Goldfool
Welcome to the conundrum called prospecting.